Scholar and Ink Colors Collector, Siddharth Adesara

MagentaCalligraphy-700

1. What’s your name and title/business name? ​Where are you located, city, ​state, country location?

My name is Siddharth Adesara. I have been practicing calligraphy for the past 7 years now. I mostly prefer blackletter calligraphy since i fell in love with the script the first time i saw it and since then I post all my work on my Instagram page (mostly) and my Facebook page that goes by the name ‘Calligraphy Shiz’.  I live in the city of Ahmedabad, India.

2. What’s your educational and professional background, i.e., college, professional school, high school, apprenticeship, etc.?

I’m a lecturer and I teach English Literature, a little bit of Psychology and Art at a school and college. I was a science student throughout high school in Ahmedabad and after a year of Microbiology at a college I realised that I really wanted to do something in Humanities- Specifically English Literature. It was during  my undergraduate college that I seriously started practicing calligraphy on my own when I couldn’t find a teacher to teach me.

Micron-700

3. Preferred tool(s) and medium?

I prefer the pilot parallel pens and my osmiroid nibs and pen exclusively if I’m practicing my calligraphy. They are the smoothest and I can get the edgy letters and swashes when I’m in the mood for them. They have never failed me. I do use other pens such as chisel-tip felt markers and fine liners in my work. It gives me greater range in terms of how I want my letters to look. The medium is almost always paper, but I have worked on cardboard, ceramic, stone, leaves, metal, plastic, wood and glass surfaces. I’m very interested in how they might look after i work on them. I have also recently been experimenting with broad brushes to see how the letters turn out.

bluePurple_Marks-700

4. Where or how do you “recharge your creative battery,” i.e., books, blogs, music, art, exercise, meditation, prayer, hobbies, interests, etc.?

I usually read and watch movies and [television] shows when I’m without a good book. I spend time at a local animal shelter and play with the animals. I love the outdoors in winter and otherwise stay indoors during the 8 months of harsh summer and rainy seasons. I love working with my hands and I travel when I can. I like to collect unique shades of ink and in my spare time I mix and match the colours. I fall in love with certain shades and right now I have been buying magenta ink for my lettering. I love to explore and study the lettering made by other artists and how they make their own distinctive style.

BlackCalligraphy-700

5. Tell us something about you that might surprise or delight us.

I have a strange obsession with words and I happen to have some ten or twelve words in my mind at a certain time. Sometimes I try and visualise them in my mind; I try to imagine what colour might do them justice, or how they might look on paper, or what kind of swashes might look good on them. It gives me great satisfaction to put them down on paper and see their majesty forever etched onto it. In a way my calligraphy also saves me from my frequent mood swings and grounds me during those times in a therapeutic and cathartic way.

Advertisements