Try, Do, Make: How Caren Kreger Approaches Her Work And Art

1. Your name and title/business name? City, Country location?

I’m Caren Kreger, and I’m the artist/creator/maker behind Everyday Hooray.  I currently live in the SF bay area and am a born and raised California girl.

IMG_0248

2. What’s your educational​ and professional​ background, i.e., college, professional school, high school, apprenticeship, etc.?

I loved art as a kid and was always drawing or making something from a young age. I practically lived in art class when I was in high school but later decided to follow my passion for helping people and that’s what lead me to study Recreation therapy at San Diego State University. I currently work full time in this profession and make art on the side. Luckily for me, the basis of Recreation therapy is helping people find ways to utilize their free time, try new things and increase their quality of life so I often have the chance to be creative and learn new things while on the job.

3. Preferred tool(s) and medium?

I have only been lettering regularly for about a year so I find myself constantly trying new mediums and jumping around a lot. I love color so anything that gives me a bright, vibrant outcome is great. I use watercolors, chalk and colored pencils often and I also really love my iPad pro for ease and accessibility. I have a 3 year old son and work mostly at my kitchen table so sometimes getting my paints out causes more trouble than its worth. I’m learning to be more strategic about it.

4. Where or how do you “recharge your creative battery,” i.e., books, blogs, music, art, exercise, meditation, prayer, hobbies, interests, etc.?

I love this question because its something that I ask my clients at work all the time.  For me, the answer to this is always changing but currently I’ve been really into podcasts and audio books. I like that I can listen to them while I’m sketching or painting and it helps me to feel connected to something. I also really love learning so I find myself seeking out stories that expand my world view. And exercise, for sure! It always helps me clear the clutter out of my head so that I have room for the good stuff.

IMG_0221

5. Tell us something about you that might surprise or delight us.

I grew up in a small farm town and did all the farm kid things, like raise meat rabbits (not a typo), sheep, and worms. I learned to weld at a young age and spent my summers raising animals, going to 4H club events and working in my Dad’s metal shop. It was amazing! I am totally grateful for those experiences that taught me so much.

As an adult, I still enjoy gardening, fishing, hiking and making things. I come from a family of hands-on, make it yourself kind of people and I love that.

IMG_0141

Instagram

Advertisements